PCAs – Please Call ASAP

I was going to write about my experience with the LSAT, but I guess I’ll have to save that for another post. I just got a phone call from my personal care attendant who was supposed to come tonight, but she said she’s having an allergic reaction, so she won’t be able to make it. I know that she was looking for a substitute yesterday, so I’m not sure if she was having a reaction then already?

PCAs are one of the few things that I really despise about my disability. Not that I despise the individual PCAs I have, most of them are great workers and excellent human beings! I just hate having to depend on someone. Like tonight, I don’t know if/when I will get someone to help me use the restroom, put on my pajamas, and even get into bed. Also, I was supposed to meet with some people tonight but I guess I won’t be happening. I wish I had more advice to give on PCAs; some days it feels like I could write a book, but other days it feels like I’m back at the beginning. I actually have been really lucky-I’ve never had any PCAs steal from me, no physical abuse, and I actually never had a PCA completely skip a shift without calling me until this year (actually, it’s the one who’s supposed to come today). So far, I have only hired college students by putting up posters around campus and asking friends/current PCAs for people that might be looking for jobs. I’m really worried about what will happen after this year though-I’m going to graduate and then go to law school, so obviously none of those students will be looking for PCA jobs. I suppose I’ll have to take my chances with Craigslist or something. Does anyone have good advice on how to find and maintain good PCAs? I just wish that they could understand that my family lives three hours away and I really have no one to help me. It’s not like a job at McDonald’s where you can skip a shift and no one’s health will be hurt.

Update-as I finish this post, I found someone to come and help me for half an hour get my pajamas on. Looks like I won’t be drinking or eating anything for the rest of the day so I don’t have to use the restroom. It’s going to be a long time until the next PCA comes tomorrow morning.

About trulyable

female physical disability undergraduate engineering student most importantly- able!
This entry was posted in College and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

